Bare Metal Deployment of Hyper-V Host from SCVMM 2012 RTM hosted in Azure IaaS

So I’m setting up my lab ready for me to do my (re-)learning of System Center 2012 RTM for my MCSE: Private Cloud. Stepping back to the RTM version you can see just how much changed in SP1 and the further changes coming in System Center 2012 R2!

Not being one to shy away from taking the easy route, and having somewhat limited kit available, I decided to put my System Center install in to Azure IaaS and connect my limited kit in the office back to that.

Why Azure IaaS?

The answer to that is quite simple: I don’t have enough (spare) resource in house to make a decent private cloud for a lab environment. I need all the compute I have available On Premise to run Hyper-V hosts, something you obviously can’t do in Azure. So the setup is:

Azure
  • 1 Domain Controller (flying by the seat of pants there)
  • 1 SQL Server 2008 R2 (will be the database server for EVERYTHING, except data warehouses)
  • 1 VMM Server (with the now defunct Self-Service portal)
On Premise
  • 1 Dell 2950 (had to blow the dust off that)
  • 3 x Fujitsu Desktop machines

Bare Metal Deployment from “The Cloud”

So the only machine I can do Bare Metal Deployment (BMD) to is the Dell 2950; the others don’t have a Baseboard Management Controller (BMC). Bearing in mind this thing hasn’t been used for a while I thought I’d dust it off, rebuild the RAID drives through the million year old BIOS based interface, configure the BMC and switch it off.

Using the old WIM2VHD script I converted the RTM version of Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 to a VHD and imported into my VMM server. On premise I installed Windows Server 2008 R2 on the least powerful desktop machine, configured WDS and DHCP on there (after joining it to the domain) and added it as PXE server in VMM. I also added it as Library Server too as I didn’t want it to drag the VHD from Azure every time I tried this (I plan to do this several times to make sure I get it 100%). I have no doubt that if I wanted to I could get it to drag the VHD down from Azure however that would munch my MSDN credits very quickly!

Anyway – BOOM! First attempt and it worked!

Onwards to my MCSE: Private Cloud!

Posted on 17 July, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Anything to add? Let me know

