Looking forward to TechEd Europe

Next week is TechEd Europe!

It’s the first Microsoft conference that I would’ve attended. I’m really looking forward to find out more about Windows Server 2012 R2, System Center 2012 R2 and Windows 8.1!

Back in 2010 during the credit crunch/recession in the UK I was wondering if it was time for a career change however I stuck with it and I’m sure glad I did. When Microsoft announced Windows Server 8 (as the amazing code name was) I actually got excited, for once, about a server release. Then along came System Center 2012 – again something to get excited about!

Having been using Windows Server 2012 in production since SP1 for System Center 2012 (but for a long time testing it prior) I was pretty damn happy about the OS and System Center had it’s wrinkles taken out with SP1. When I put in to production I thought “this is pretty good” and most importantly to me it is stable! RTM software has had a history of instability however, for me at least, there was none of that with Windows Server 2012. Just when I was getting comfortable with the OS and the management software they go and announce R2! Cue a whole new batch of excitement.

It is times like these that I remember why I got in to IT it the first place. The pace of change and the momentum that is building is phenomenal, some may say it’s too fast but certainly not for me. This why I love IT – it doesn’t stay still, there’s always more to play with, learn and implement!

Posted on 21 June, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Anything to add? Let me know

