Hyper-V converged fabric with host and guest iSCSI networks

I finally had a chance to catch up with Aidan Finn’s blog this week (he’s a Hyper-V god) and I saw this post: Another WS2012 Hyper-V Converged Fabric Design With Host & Guest iSCSI Networks

It got me thinking about 2 things:

  1. Why haven’t I updated my network documentation?!
  2. Does my iSCSI network look like this?

With regards to the second question I really hoped so!

As such I drew my Hyper-V host and guest iSCSI network from the same view as Aidan’s and this is what I got:

Hyper-V Converged iSCSI Fabric

As I’m running a 4 node cluster and that Windows failover cluster manager and SCVMM 2012 SP1 validated my cluster I know that all nodes are the same… I deployed 3 of the hyper-v hosts before SCVMM (odd I know) so I was glad it validated it.

When I wanted to add a new host to the cluster Windows failover cluster manager validated it so I thought I’d get SCVMM to check it too. Bizarrely it found a slight difference between the existing nodes and the new one (a NIC was configured slightly differently) – rectified that and job done!

For a PDF version of the above you can download it from my SkyDrive

Posted on 8 May, 2013, in Fabric, Hyper-V and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Anything to add? Let me know

